Tax Aguh Kill Wi Off Inna Jamaica

Pupa Jezaz wen dis aguh stop? Every corner yuh turn, dis government haffi find some unique way fi tax out wi baxside! Unu realize seh dem plan fi kill we off dung yah pon di Rock?

You may be wondering why the title and first lines of my post are in patois as I seldom blog in Creole but my dears, this is intentional as I join with the average uneducated Jamaican man to express my disgust at this move by the government.

Why under the heavens would a government who claim they care about their people impose a tax on bank withdrawals? Some of us hardly have money in these financial institutions so imagine taxing the little that you have. This is utter rubbish! The banking sector is already a profitable business as they charge exorbitant fees for their services. Why is it that the government saw it fit to tap into this sector to make poor people feel the burden once more?

Everywhere we turn, we are the ones who suffer. When I collect my pay cheque, a major percentage is deducted for tax and I’m supposed to pay tax to withdraw the little that’s left? With all these taxes, soon and very soon, I’ll be offering free labour. Bank deposits will most likely hurt taxpayers more, as our income is usually deposited electronically and we must withdraw. Why tax the same persons so many times? They’re so many other ways the government could generate money for their coffers.

In my opinion, Jamaica is a rich country; however, poor management of finances is the reason why we’re in this crisis. I don’t see the Government making any effort to curb its own expenditure, such as excessive overseas travel and lavish perks! We don’t see much effort to curb waste in public spending! It appears the Government must be getting desperate or running out of ideas.

I am Ms. Laydee Sharmz. Unu gwaan hold di faith!

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

2 thoughts on “Tax Aguh Kill Wi Off Inna Jamaica

Leave a comment